MINUTES

Environment and Planning Committee

Tuesday, 14 June 2022 7.00pm

Blended Meeting



PRESENT

COUNCIL MEMBERS

The Mayor, Councillor Katris, Deputy Mayor, Councillor Landsberry (Chairperson), Councillor Elise Borg, Councillor Peter Mahoney, Councillor Natalie Mort, Councillor Colleen Symington Councillor Warren Tegg (online) and Councillor Benjamin Wang.

COUNCIL STAFF

Acting General Manager – David Tuxford, Director Environment and Planning - Meryl Bishop, Manager Strategic Planning - Catherine McMahon, Acting Director Community and Culture – Kristie Dodd, Acting Director Business and Corporate Services – Sue Weatherley, Strategic Planner/Information Management – Andy Zhou, Acting Manager Office of the General Manager - Vicki McKinley, Executive Services Officer - Neil Treadwell (Minutes) and Technology Systems Officer – Alex Wong.

OPENING

The Chairperson, Councillor Landsberry, opened the meeting at 7.05pm

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Chairperson, Councillor Landsberry acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land, the Biddegal people of the Eora Nation.

APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE

MOTION: Councillor Borg and Councillor Wang

That apologies be accepted and leave of absence be granted for Councillor Jamieson.

Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous

NOTICE OF WEBCASTING

The Chairperson, Councillor Landsberry, advised staff and the public that the meeting is being recorded for minute-taking purposes and is also webcast live on Council's website, in accordance with Section 4 of Council's Code of Meeting Practice. This recording will be made available on Council's website.

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest made.

PUBLIC FORUM

	Speaker	Report No	Report Title
1	Aaron Sutherland	ENV015-22	Planning Proposal PP2022/0001 - 9 Gloucester Road Hurstville - Request for Gateway Determination

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

ENV014-22 Confirmation of the Minutes of the Environment and Planning Meeting held on 9 May 2022

(Report by Executive Services Officer)

RECOMMENDATION: Councillor Borg and Councillor Wang

That the Minutes of the Environment and Planning Committee Meeting held on 9 May 2022 be confirmed.

Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous

ENV015-22 Planning Proposal PP2022/0001 - 9 Gloucester Road Hurstville - Request for Gateway Determination

(Report by Strategic Planner/Information Management)

RECOMMENDATION: The Mayor, Councillor Katris and Councillor Mahoney

- (a) That Council support the recommendation of the Georges River Local Planning Panel dated 2 June 2022 for the Planning Proposal PP2022/0001 relating to 9 Gloucester Road, Hurstville.
- (b) That Council support the amendment to Schedule 1 of the Georges River Local Environmental Plan 2021 proposed by Planning Proposal PP2022/0001 relating to part of the site known as 9 Gloucester Road, Hurstville.
- (c) That Council endorse the forwarding of Planning Proposal PP2022/0001 relating to 9 Gloucester Road, Hurstville to the NSW Department of Planning and Environment (DPE) to request a Gateway Determination under Section 3.33 of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 for an amendment to the Georges River Local Environmental Plan 2021 by:
 - 1) introducing "residential flat building" as an additional permitted use on "Area A" of the Site (being Part Lot 30 DP785238); and
 - 2) excluding the application of Clause 6.13 Development in certain business zones from "Area A" of the Site (being Part Lot 30 DP785238).
- (d) That the Planning Proposal be placed on formal public exhibition in accordance with the conditions of any Gateway Determination issued by the DPE.
- (e) That Council write to the DPE requesting that the Planning Proposal be placed on the public exhibition for 28 days.
- (f) That Council consider a report on the submissions received following the public exhibition.

Record of Voting:

<u>For the Motion</u>: The Mayor, Councillor Katris and Councillors Borg, Mahoney, Tegg and Wang.

Against the Motion: Cr Landsberry (abstained)

CONCLUSION

The Meeting was closed at 7.23pm

Chairperson, Deputy Mayor, Councillor Kathryn Landsberry (in accordance with Clause 18.5 of Council's Code of Meeting Practice, these Minutes have been signed by the Chairperson of the 14 June 2022 meeting)

Minutes confirmed at the meeting of the Environment and Planning Committee on 11 July 2022 (ENV016-22)